Haydn

Haydn, a genius?

Joseph Haydn was a man of immense wealth: he possessed creativity, grace, happiness, health, humor, good taste, a strong character, a warm heart, tranquility and vitality, originality, a sharp mind, independence, depth, clarity, knowledge, and experience. At least, that’s what Ferdinand Hiller wrote in 1877 when most of that generation’s commentators described Haydn as childish, simplistic, and hollow.

Everyone is free to make up their own minds during Anima Eterna’s live concert on 23 June 2021, in the Concertgebouw in Bruges. Two examples of Haydn’s opulent oeuvre will be performed—the Symphony No. 103 and the Piano Concerto in D major. The Symphony was written in the rather solemn key of E flat major, but it surprises listeners again and again with its “con spirito” and “piu testo Allegretto.” Haydn always managed to combine seriousness with openness and positivism. This Symphony is nicknamed “The Drumroll.” But is that serious or playful?

Lyricism and virtuosity are combined in the popular Piano Concerto in D major. The Flemish Lucas Blondeel, professor in Berlin, will be the soloist, playing a striking facsimile of an Anton Walter fortepiano made by Christopher Clarke. Walter was the Imperial Royal Instrument Maker and tuner for Prince Esterhazy, who was Haydn’s boss in a manner of speaking, so this piano is right at home. The piece is truly a gem among piano concertos, with its sparkling and shimmering first movement, a lovely, lyrical second movement, and an effervescent finale, the Rondo all’Ungarese.

 

Jos van Immerseel

Translated by E. J. Stevens

 

This project was made possible with funding support from Tax Shelter by Government of Flanders.

Concerts

Show all details

Date Time Location Project Tickets  
23-06-'21 20:00 Concertgebouw Brugge Tickets
Program
  • Joseph Haydn - Klavierkonzert in D Hob.XVIII:11 (1784)
  • Joseph Haydn - Symphonie Nr. 103 in Es Dur "Mit dem Paukenwirbel" Hob.I:103 (1795)
Soloist
  • Lucas Blondeel - HammerflĂĽgel

Haydn

Génial ou gênant ?

De Joseph Haydn se dégageait une immense richesse : force de création, grâce, joie, santé, humour, bon goût, esprit puissant, grand cœur, calme et vitalité, originalité, intelligence aiguisée, liberté, profondeur, clarté, connaissance, expérience. C’est tout au moins ce qu’a écrit Ferdinand Hiller à son propos en 1877, même si la plupart des critiques de l’époque de Haydn le trouvaient puéril, simpliste et vide. Au bout du compte, qui a raison ?

Chacun sera libre de se forger sa propre opinion lors du concert d’Anima Eterna du 23 juin prochain au Concertgebouw de Bruges. Seront alors joués la Sinfonie n°103 et le Concerto pour clavier en Ré majeur, deux échantillons de cette richesse de Haydn. La Sinfonie a été composée dans la tonalité sérieuse de Mi bémol majeur, mais nous sommes constamment surpris par les « con spirito » ou « piu testo Allegretto » demandés, car pour Haydn tout sérieux va de pair avec un regard ouvert et une bonne dose de positivisme. Cette Sinfonie est surnommée « roulement de timbale ». Est-elle sérieuse ou espiègle ?

L’atmosphère est chantante et virtuose dans le si apprécié Concerto pour clavier en Ré majeur. Il sera interprété par Lucas Blondeel, musicien flamand professeur à Berlin. Il jouera une superbe copie d’un piano d’Anton Walter de Christopher Clarke. Anton Walter était fournisseur et accordeur à la cour du Comte Esterhazy – l’employeur de Haydn s’il on peut dire. Nous serons donc en terrain familier. Avec son premier mouvement pétillant et perlé, un magnifique deuxième mouvement chantant et un écumant Rondo all’Ungarese, cette œuvre peut être considérée comme un bijou parmi les concertos pour clavier.

 

Jos van Immerseel

Traduction par C. Comte

 

Ce projet est allimenté par Tax Shelter de Gouvernement Flamand.

Concerts

Afficher tous les détails

Date Temps Emplacement Project Billets  
23-06-'21 20:00 Concertgebouw Brugge Billets
Programme
  • Joseph Haydn - Klavierkonzert in D Hob.XVIII:11 (1784)
  • Joseph Haydn - Symphonie Nr. 103 in Es Dur "Mit dem Paukenwirbel" Hob.I:103 (1795)
Soliste
  • Lucas Blondeel - Hammerflügel