Bruckner 7

Concerts

Show all details

Date Time Location Country Project Tickets  
14-08-'22 Tax shelter premiere 11:00 Grafenegg Festival Austria Tickets
Program
  • Anton Bruckner - Symphonie Nr. 7 in E Dur (1881-83)
15-08-'22 20:00 Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Germany Tickets
Program
  • Johannes Brahms - Tragische Ouverture (1880)
  • Anton Bruckner - Symphonie Nr. 7 in E Dur (1881-83)
25-08-'22 20:00 Musikfest Bremen Germany Tickets
Program
  • Anton Bruckner - Symphonie Nr. 7 in E Dur (1881-83)
15-09-'22 20:00 Besançon France Tickets
Program
  • Anton Bruckner - Symphonie Nr. 7 in E Dur (1881-83)
Program

Johannes Brahms – Tragische Ouverture (1880), only at Elbphilharmonie Hamburg

Anton Bruckner – Symphonie Nr. 7 in E Dur WAB. 107 (1881-83)

Bruckner 7

Conductor Pablo Heras-Casado and Anima Eterna will join forces to take on a dazzling challenge. Bruckner’s symphonies are so impressive that they have achieved monumental status today as  ‘cathedrals of sound.’ And Heras-Casado and Anima Eterna plan to dismantle those cathedrals—brick by brick—to re-construct them in an entirely new way. The inspiration will come from the rich artistic baggage of Viennese musicians from Bruckner’s day. What did they hear? What did they know? What did they expect? Anima Eterna will go in search of that era’s instruments, strings, and orchestral seating plans. Hunting for intricate bowings and clearly resonating chords. And the quest will, of course, include a search for the historical sound of the renowned Wagner tubas. 

Heras-Casado will transform the rehearsal space into a laboratory for artistic research: with the orchestra, by the orchestra, and for the orchestra. It will be a living experiment full of open-ended questions. Bruckner’s Seventh is a logical departure point for this marvellous journey. With that symphony, Bruckner managed to win over his audience after years of criticism and even blatant ridicule. The Seventh also presents an excellent introduction to the vast soundscapes that typify Bruckner’s music. As Heras-Casado says, ‘Bruckner’s music offers an unprecedented spiritual and spatial voyage. With Bruckner, you don’t just listen to his music; you live in that music.’

‘The orchestra itself will become my laboratory. The genuine research will only begin once we start playing and can respond to the colours that emerge. I know what I want and hope to achieve with this wonderful opportunity to play Bruckner on period instruments. But at the same time, my plans must remain necessarily vague until we genuinely start to shape the sound together.

This project came about with the help of

  • Logo FTS

Bruckner 7

Concerts

Afficher tous les détails

Date Temps Emplacement Pays Project Billets  
14-08-'22 première tax shelter 11:00 Grafenegg Festival L'Autriche Billets
Programme
  • Anton Bruckner - Symphonie Nr. 7 in E Dur (1881-83)
15-08-'22 20:00 Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Allemagne Billets
Programme
  • Johannes Brahms - Tragische Ouverture (1880)
  • Anton Bruckner - Symphonie Nr. 7 in E Dur (1881-83)
25-08-'22 20:00 Musikfest Bremen Allemagne Billets
Programme
  • Anton Bruckner - Symphonie Nr. 7 in E Dur (1881-83)
15-09-'22 20:00 Besançon France Billets
Programme
  • Anton Bruckner - Symphonie Nr. 7 in E Dur (1881-83)
Programme

Johannes Brahms – Tragische Ouverture (1880), seulement à Elbphilharmonie Hamburg

Anton Bruckner – Symphonie Nr. 7 in E Dur WAB. 107 (1881-83)

Bruckner 7

Pablo Heras-Casado, chef d’orchestre, et Anima Eterna vont ici relever ensemble un défi vertigineux. Les symphonies de Bruckner sont tellement impressionnantes qu’aujourd’hui, on les considère presque comme des monuments, comme « des cathédrales de sons ». Heras-Casado et Anima Eterna veulent démanteler ces cathédrales – pierre par pierre – afin ensuite de pouvoir les reconstruire, comme neuves. Le riche bagage artistique des musiciens viennois de l’époque de Bruckner est inspirant. Qu’entendaient-ils ? Que connaissaient-ils ? Quelles étaient leurs attentes ? Anima Eterna part à la recherche des instruments de cette époque, des cordes d’alors, de la disposition de l’orchestre d’alors, du raffinement des coups d’archets, des accords à la sonorité claire, et naturellement de la sonorité historique des fameux tubas wagnériens.

Heras-Casado rebaptise par ailleurs la salle de répétition. Il la transforme en un laboratoire riche en recherches artistiques : recherches avec l’orchestre, de l’orchestre, nourries par l’orchestre. Il s’agit d’une expérience vivante, pleine d’interrogations et dont l’issue est ouverte. La Septième symphonie de Bruckner constitue un point de départ logique pour ce merveilleux voyage : avec cette symphonie, après des années de critique et même de raillerie ouverte, Bruckner a finalement su convaincre le public. C’est également une introduction rêvée au somptueux paysage sonore si caractéristique de la musique du compositeur. Pour reprendre les mots d’Heras-Casado : « La musique de Bruckner offre un voyage spatial et spirituel sans précédent. On n’entend pas seulement la musique de Bruckner, on la vit. »

« L’orchestre lui-même devient mon laboratoire. Ce n’est que lorsque nous commençons à jouer et que nous pouvons réagir aux couleurs naissantes que mes véritables recherches commencent. Je sais ce que je désire et ce que je veux atteindre avec cette chance magnifique qui m’est offerte d’interpréter la musique de Bruckner sur instruments historiques. Mais, en même temps, ces plans que j’ai en moi doivent rester vagues jusqu’au moment où nous commençons véritablement à donner forme au son. »

Ce projet est né avec l'aide de

  • Logo FTS