Guest Conductor

Pablo Heras-Casado

Since the 2020-2021 season, Anima Eterna has collaborated with several guest conductors, giving each a chance to develop their own artistic trajectory. For many years, Pablo Heras-Casado has dreamed of performing Bruckner’s symphonies on historical instruments. In Anima Eterna, he has found the ideal partner to make that dream a reality. And that explains why Bruckner’s music runs like a thread throughout his guest conductorship. 

“The combination of rigorous historical research, lively, open playing, plus their high level of technical precision: that simply makes an orchestra hugely attractive for a conductor.” – Pablo Heras-Casado

In his work with Anima Eterna, Heras-Casado, an internationally renowned conductor, will aim for a long-term collaboration with a transparent artistic approach. This new project fits like a glove with both Anima Eterna’s history and Jos van Immerseel’s achievements. Heras-Casado sees historical performance practices – which were already evident in his teens at the start of his career – as a means of bringing out a work’s most radical qualities. What will his Bruckner sound like? That’s difficult to predict. The orchestra will function as Heras-Casado’s laboratory: only by interacting with the musicians can something genuinely new emerge. 

“You have to dare to give a bit of space to uncertainty, to surprise. How will Heras-Casado’s Bruckner sound? Transparent, rhetorical and with a certain lightness in the sound but not in the message.” – Pablo Heras-Casado 

More information about Bruckner and the concert dates will soon be available here.

Gastdirigent

Pablo Heras-Casado

Depuis la saison 2020-2021, Anima Eterna travaille avec divers chefs invités qui développent chacun un trajet artistique. Pablo Heras-Casado rêve depuis des années d’interpréter des symphonies de Bruckner sur instruments historiques. En Anima Eterna, il a trouvé un partenaire idéal afin de réaliser son rêve. La musique de Bruckner constitue le fil directeur de sa carrière de chef d’orchestre.

« La combinaison de recherches profondément historiques et d’un jeu ouvert et innovant, la très grande ampleur du répertoire de l’orchestre – qui va jusqu’au vingtième siècle : tout ceci est extrêmement attirant pour un chef d’orchestre. » – Pablo Heras-Casado

Ce chef à la carrière internationale au plus haut niveau a choisi de travailler à long terme avec Anima Eterna sur un programme artistique au contenu clair. L’histoire d’Anima Eterna et les réalisations de Jos van Immerseel trouvent de manière naturelle une continuation dans ce nouveau projet. L’interprétation historiquement informée est pour Heras-Casado une évidence depuis le tout début de sa carrière, dès son adolescence. C’est un moyen permettant de mettre en valeur les qualités les plus radicales d’une œuvre. Comment la musique de Bruckner va-t-elle sonner ? Il est difficile de le prévoir. L’orchestre devient le laboratoire de Heras-Casado : ce n’est qu’en entrant en interaction avec les musiciens que quelque chose de véritablement nouveau peut voir le jour. 

« On doit donner de l’espace au doute. Se laisser surprendre est un élément extrêmement important de la créativité. Je pense que la musique de Bruckner sonnera très probablement de façon plus transparente que ce dont on a l’habitude. Avec une certaine légèreté dans le timbre, mais pas dans le message. » – Pablo Heras-Casado

Le projet avec Bruckner sera certainement un somment dans le travail avec Heras-Casado. Vous trouverez prochainement ici des informations complémentaires sur Bruckner et les dates de concert.