Guest Conductor

Midori Seiler

Since the 2020-2021 season, Anima Eterna has collaborated with several guest conductors, giving each a chance to develop their own artistic trajectory. Midori Seiler was the concertmaster of Anima Eterna for fifteen years, and she is delighted to return as a guest conductor. For her, this active role in Anima’s future seems like an obvious choice. 

“I said yes because there is no orchestra like Anima. The motivation, dedication, and charm of each player- in musical and social terms – is so inspiring. The resonance of Jos van Immerseel’s music making has become, among other inspiring moments and acquaintances in my life, a part of mine.” – Midori Seiler

Ms Seiler is very much at home with the knowledge she has gleaned from the first generation of historical musicians. She sees her role as a logical way of building on their accomplishments. Luckily, there are always new things to discover, especially with Anima Eterna’s chosen repertoire. ‘This search remains extremely fascinating.’ Seiler will conduct Anima Eterna from the concertmaster’s chair: not from the conductor’s podium, but from the heart of the orchestra. 

“In earlier days, when conductors didn’t exist, musicians were following the lead of first violins or harpsichord players. It’s just a question of habit.” – Midori Seiler

Gastdirigente

Midori Seiler

Depuis la saison 2020-2021, Anima Eterna travaille avec divers chefs invités qui développent chacun un trajet artistique. Midori Seiler a assuré pendant quinze ans la fonction de premier violon d’Anima Eterna. Elle rejoint à présent cette formation comme chef invité. Faire partie des projets futurs d’Anima est pour elle une évidence.

« Parce que selon moi, Anima Eterna est unique: le dévouement et la motivation des membres de l’orchestre constituent pour moi une immense source d’inspiration. La manière qu’a Jos van Immerseel de diriger a toujours été ressentie comme une invitation envers les musiciens. Cela m’a marquée et je le retiens. » – Midori Seiler

La connaissance de la première génération des musiciens qui se sont consacrés à l’interprétation historiquement informée résonne fortement en Midori Seiler et fait partie de son bagage musical. Elle se place dans la continuation logique de leurs réalisations. Il reste encore heureusement toujours beaucoup à découvrir, notamment dans le répertoire qu’Anima Eterna joue. « Cette recherche reste extrêmement fascinante ». Midori Seiler dirigera Anima Eterna en tant que concertmeister. Pas du pupitre de chef d’orchestre mais du cœur même de l’orchestre.

« C’était comme cela aussi que cela se passait autrefois, l’orchestre suivait un musicien, souvent le premier violon ou l’organiste. Pourquoi n’essayerions-nous pas ? C’est juste une question d’habitude. » – Midori Seiler