RAVEL / MUSORGSKY – Tableaux d’une exposition & Ma mère l’oye

In late 18th-century Russia, due to emerging nationalism eagerly in search of a unique ethnic identity, the traditional repertoire of folk music enjoyed a heightened interest. The ‘discovery’ of this heritage gave rise to the idea that newly composed music, if it wanted to be genuinely ‘Russian’, would have to be rooted in that folk music. The composer’s job was to mould this precious material into a refined artistic creation.

Viktor Alexandrowitsch Hartmann (1834-1873), for one, considered the integration of the Russian national spirit into the arts as the highest artistic ideal. He was a creative jack-of-all-trades – an architect, a designer, a graphic artist, a painter and a craftsman – and as such highly admired by Vladimir Stasov, an influential art critic who devoted many essays to Hartmann, whom he admired as the most important pillar of the Russian ‘Renaissance’. Stasov was also the touchstone and pivot of the Mighty Handful, a group of five composers, counting in addition to Modest Musorgsky also Mily Balakirev, Alexander Borodin, Cesar Cui and Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov. Stasov was the vital link between Hartmann and Musorgsky: not only as the living liaison between the composer and the artist, but also as the one who took the initiative for the commemorative special exhibition of Hartmann’s oeuvre shortly after his untimely death.

Thanks to Stasov’s commitment the exhibition Pictures at an Exhibition — To the Memory of Viktor Hartmann was organized in St Petersburg, with architectural plans, costume designs, stage settings, utensils and artifacts, free sketches and aquarelles which through their diversity were evidence of Hartmann’s original spirit. One of the visitors was Musorgsky; of The Five, he probably felt closest to Hartmann‘s oeuvre, sharing the latter’s fascination with Russian folklore and its specific, rich coloration.

Stasov’s role in the genetic history of Musorgsky‘s Pictures at an Exhibition (originally entitled Hartmann) was for that matter not exhausted: while the composer was carried away by inspiration to compose a series of musical tableaux, managing to write down his piano suite in merely three weeks’ time, Stasov was his touchstone. Consequently the final result was dedicated to Stasov, who supervised and introduced the first edition, published five years after Musorgsky‘s death and amended by Rimsky-Korsakov. Stasov’s commentaries on Hartmann’s works that inspired the composition were to be reprinted edition after edition, particularly since almost half of them had been lost in the meantime.

At his visit of the exhibition Musorgsky let his gaze dwell on 11 works. However, he did not transpose them straight ahead from image to sound: Pictures at an Exhibition transcends illustrative programme music, being rather a self-willed composition driven by exciting contrasts. In some of the parts the link with Hartmann’s oeuvre is conspicuous: Catacombs is a splendid, but uncanny sketch with Hartmann in the crypts of Paris, surrounded by pale skeletons and an odour of silent corruption, captured by Musorgsky in naked, raw chords. The section Cum mortuis in lingua mortua was annotated by the composer as follows: The creative spirit of Hartmann leads me to the skulls, invoking them. Thereupon, the skulls began to glow softly. The impressive sight of The Great Gate of Kiev — a fantastic sketch by Hartmann that, like many of his works, was never executed — is echoed in the accompaniment by obbligato bells. In The Tuileries we hear the children from Hartmann’s picture playing, laughing and squabbling in the gardens of Paris, while Hartmann’s costume designs for the ballet Trilby inspired Musorgsky to compose his Ballet of the Chickens in Their Shells as a musical equivalent of busy scratching and charming cheeping.

Linking other parts of the suite to Hartmann’s oeuvre is less evident. The pictorial inspiration for some of the musical sections cannot even be determined at all, as Hartmann is known to have made different versions of the same theme, or else because the original works have not yet been — and probably never will be — traced. The Old Castle is supposed to show a medieval castle with a troubadour in an Italian landscape, but no illustration corresponds to this description. For The Gnome, too, we only have Stasov’s word that the idea originated in a design for a nutcracker, shaped as a grotesque dwarf with deformed legs. In other cases problems lie in ill-fitting details or vagueness. Bydło, for instance, is Musorgsky‘s impression of a Polish oxcart, but neither the diabolic atmosphere nor the coachman — both suggested by the composer — are visible on Hartmann’s picture. Musorgsky‘s scene with gossiping women in The Marketplace in Limoges cannot be traced to any of Hartmann’s sketches of this town.

Baba-Yaga, then, is based on a design for a clock shaped like a hut on fowl’s legs, according to a Russian folktale the home of the witch Baba-Yaga. In Musorgsky‘s fantasy this man-eating sorceress, specialized in pulverizing children’s bones in a stone pot, fumingly speeds through the air on her broomstick. Musorgsky is probably going farthest in his manipulation of Hartmann’s materials in Samuel Goldenberg & Schmuyle: here he combines two portraits (the rich and the begging Jew) into a polarized dialogue, the former figure on top of things in the treble of the orchestral score, the latter stumbling in the bass line. A masterly display of dramatic skills! Allegedly the portraits once belonged to Musorgsky himself, and were lent out by him to the exhibition. The issues remain complex, though: did Musorgsky really take his cue from these works, or were the characters mainly figments of his own imagination?

That certainly is true for the Promenade which serves as the opening of the suite and recurs in shortened and changed shapes. Here we accompany the composer on his walk to and throughout the exhibition hall. The theme of the Promenade has also been incorporated into Cum mortuis in lingua mortua and The Great Gate of Kiev, where it turns into a hymn with a patriotic slant.

Much has been said and written about the nationalistically inspired realism and the folkish roots of the music. Connecting with Russian folklore was of great importance for Musorgsky, even though he approached this heritage intuitively rather than theoretically. Other distinctive characteristics of the suite are the inspiration he drew from historical repertoires, the visual connotations which empower the score with the suggestive impact of a movie score, and the dynamic sequence of dramatically divergent scenes. However, Musorgsky‘s brilliance resides first and foremost in his skill to forge his varied colour palette and mosaic of stories into a gripping tale, cemented by the Promenade. The balance is masterly, the composer’s narrative convincing. Nevertheless, for the average Russian Hartmann was no tin god, Musorgsky no idol, and Pictures at an Exhibition no ready-to-eat chunk of entertainment: initially the composition was hardly appreciated at all. However, after the first (posthumous) edition it soon became one of Musorgsky‘s most beloved works. The first one to venture an adaptation was Mikhail Tushmalov in 1886, followed by Leopold Stokowski, Lucien Cailliet, Walter Goehr, Vladimir Ashkenazy and Leonard Slatkin. If you feel like it, you can listen to versions for brass band, Latin jazz ensemble or punk, glass harp, percussion, guitar or saxophone choir, as well as acquire the album with the same title by rockers Emerson, Lake & Palmer.

The most famous adaptation is indubitably the one by Maurice Ravel, commissioned in 1920 by composer/conductor/editor Serge Koussevitzky. With his orchestration Ravel further pursued Musorgsky‘s innovative line, exploring all possibilities of the modern orchestra: witness the saxophone solo in The Old Castle, the tuba solo in Bydło, and the muted trumpet in Schmuyle.

Koussevitzky had requested from Ravel an orchestration in the vein of Rimsky- Korsakov – a demand that the composer largely tended to ignore, preferring a more personal, stubborn and solid style. Even so, he did not entirely manage to elude his colleague’s influence: for lack of Musorgsky‘s original score he had no choice but to use Rimsky-Korsakov’s edition as his point of departure.

And that left its traces: thus the crescendo at the approach of the oxcart is the work of the editor, while Musorgsky himself had indicated a fortissimo. It is not difficult to analyse where Rimsky-Korsakov or Ravel took over from Musorgsky‘s original score. However, quite a few other questions about Pictures at an Exhibition remain unanswered: what did the lost works of Hartmann look like? Why were not all of Stasov’s descriptions included in the exhibition catalogue? And why was Musorgsky so attracted by this oeuvre, which reveals the hand of a craftsman endowed with fantasy, but nevertheless is often no match for the dynamic and sensitive score?

These questions continue to feed the debate for musicologists and melomaniac detectives. However, the most intriguing thing in this context is perhaps that the composition stands up in its own right even without explications or references. In this respect the following words of Musorgsky‘s biographer Calvocoressi (1908) can serve as a conclusion: “the musical result remains as interesting even if one ignores all commentaries. And also the most exacting people will agree that, once this condition has been fulfilled, the music is good – no matter whether it is imitative, descriptive or representational.”

RAVEL: MA MERE L’OYE

The same holds true of Ravel’s Ma Mere L’Oye, a suite that was not inspired by images, but by words. Ravel wrote the five compositions for Mimie and Jean, the two children of artist Cyprian Godebski, drawing without restraint on the fairy tales of Charles Perrault, Comtesse d’Aulnoy and Marie Leprince de Beaumont. A couple of months after the premiere (20 April 1910), Ravel orchestrated the suite. In the subsequent year (1911) he added an extra scene, a prelude and interludes at the request of impresario Jacques Rouche, who fancied the piece as ballet music.

The orchestra suite opens with Sleeping Beauty‘s Pavan: in this evocation of the Sleeping Beauty princess Florine is presented as a sleepwalking figure. Little Tom Thumb, or Petit Poucet, is seized during his ramble through the woods, leaving behind bread crumbs in vain; in Ravel’s score he is given the musical shape of an oboe, while eager birds chirp in the parts for the woodwinds. The story about Little Ugly Girl, Empress of the Pagodas is less known but as steeped in fantasy: a princess who was transmogrified by a sorceress into an ugly girl travels in the company of a serpent to the country of the “Pagodas” – small creatures with bodies of jewels. Ravel takes advantage of pentatonic scales and percussion instruments (xylophone, woodblocks, celesta) to create an unmistakable Oriental scenery. In Conversations of Beauty and the Beast – a dialogue between a graciously waltzing clarinet and a growling contrabassoon – the music snaps it up at the most dramatic moment: Beauty agrees to marry the Beast, and suddenly sees no horrible monster but a handsome prince (due to a flourish with the magic wand in the parts for harp and percussion)! The Fairy Garden symbolizes the happy end: a dapper princely couple is waived off by a fairy on the way to a long and happy life.

With this world of castles and witchcraft Ravel reveals a less conspicuous side of his sophisticated personality: he was very fond of children’s games, broke a lance for unbridled fantasy and for the uninhibited observation by children, as well as being fascinated with the transcendent innocence of childhood. Perhaps his preference for adapting existing compositions can be understood from this vantage point: did he not take advantage, in doing so, of the opportunity to time and again re-discover the music from a fresh, new perspective and with a spontaneous approach? At any rate the works recorded here testify to the incomparable results of this approach: rich and intense pages chockfull of technically supreme musical ingenuity and the creative superabundance of a musical genius who remained eternally young.

Sofie Taes – Jos van Immerseel

Translation: Joris Duytschaever

© Outhere Music

RAVEL / MUSORGSKY – Tableaux d’une exposition & Ma mère l’oye

Dans la Russie de la fin du XVIIIème siècle, la quête d’une identité populaire unique inspirée par le nationalisme florissant a mené à un intérêt accru pour le répertoire musical traditionnel. De cette « découverte » de ce patrimoine est née l’idée que la nouvelle musique russe, si elle voulait vraiment être « russe », devait dériver de la musique populaire. La tâche du compositeur ? Modeler cette masse précieuse en une création artistique raffinée.

Pour Viktor Alexandrovitch Hartmann (1834-1873) comme pour d’autres, l’intégration de l’esprit du peuple russe dans l’art était l’idéal artistique ultime. C’était un créateur touche-à-tout — architecte, designer, graphiste, peintre et artisan — qui faisait l’objet de l’admiration de Vladimir Stassov, un critique d’art influent qui avait consacré de nombreux essais à Hartmann et qui le considérait comme le pivot architectural le plus important de la « renaissance » russe. Stassov était en outre la pierre de touche et le pilier du « Puissant petit groupe » ou Groupe des Cinq dont faisait partie, en plus de Modeste Moussorgski, Mili Balakirev, Alexandre Borodine, César Cui et Nikolaï Rimsky-Korsakov. Stassov constituait le lien crucial entre Hartmann et Moussorgski : non seulement comme connexion vivante entre le compositeur et le plasticien mais aussi comme initiateur d’une exposition rétrospective de l’oeuvre d’Hartmann peu de temps après sa mort prématurée.

Grâce à l’enthousiasme de Stassov, l’exposition Kartínki s výstavki — Vospominániye o Víktore Gártmane (Images d’une exposition — en mémoire de Viktor Hartmann) fut organisée à Saint-Pétersbourg, avec des esquisses d’architecture, des projets de costumes, des décors, des objets utilitaires et de décoration, des dessins et des aquarelles qui témoignent dans leur diversité de l’esprit original d’Hartmann. L’un des visiteurs était Moussorgski ; dans le Groupe des Cinq, c’était peut-être celui qui se sentait le plus proche de l’oeuvre d’Hartmann, vu sa fascination pour le coloris particulier du folklore russe.

Le rôle de Stassov dans la genèse de Tableaux d’une exposition de Moussorgski (initialement intitulé Hartmann) ne se limite d’ailleurs pas à cela : lorsque le compositeur inspiré a abouti à une série de tableaux musicaux et a couché sur papier en seulement trois semaines sa suite pour piano, Stassov est resté présent comme pierre de touche et soutien. Le résultat final a aussi été dédicacé à Stassov, qui a supervisé et doté d’une introduction la première édition — publiée cinq ans après la mort de Moussorgski et amendée par Rimsky-Korsakov. Ses commentaires sur les oeuvres d’Hartmann qui avaient servi de base à la composition, auraient été transmis, réédition après réédition — surtout parce que presque la moitié a depuis été perdue.

Lors de sa visite de l’exposition, Moussorgski semble avoir été attiré par 11 œuvres en particulier. Mais il ne les a pas directement transposées d’images en musique : Tableaux d’une exposition dépasse la musique à programme illustrative et est avant tout une composition audacieuse qui est propulsée par de passionnants contrastes. Dans certaines parties, le lien avec l’oeuvre d’Hartmann est clair : Catacombae est une esquisse magnifique mais sinistre où Hartmann représente les catacombes de Paris, entourées de squelettes pâles et l’odeur de pourri – rendues par Moussorgski dans des accords nus et crus. Dans la section Cum mortuis in lingua mortua, le compositeur a noté : « L’esprit créateur d’Hartmann me conduit aux crânes et les appelle. Les crânes commencent à briller doucement ». La puissante vision de La grande porte de Kiev — un fantastique projet d’Hartmann qui, comme beaucoup de ses travaux, n’a jamais été réalisé — trouve un écho dans l’accompagnement de cloches incontournables.

Dans Tuileries, on entend les enfants de la représentation d’Hartmann jouer et se disputer dans les jardins parisiens et avec le Ballet des poussins dans leurs coques — basé sur le projet de costumes d’Hartmann pour le ballet Trilby — Moussorgski a cherché un équivalent musical des pattes grattant fiévreusement le sol et des attendrissants pépiements.

Le lien entre les autres parties de la suite et l’oeuvre d’Hartmann est moins évident. Pour certaines sections, on ne peut même pas déterminer avec certitude la source d’inspiration picturale parce que l’on trouve dans son oeuvre différentes versions de la même donnée ou parce que certaines oeuvres n’ont pas encore réapparu et ont peut-être bien été irrémédiablement perdues. Il vecchio castello présenterait une forteresse médiévale avec un troubadour dans un paysage italien, mais aucune illustration ne répond à cette description. Pour Gnomus également, nous n’avons que les mots de Stassov disant que l’idée découle d’un projet pour un casse-noix, en forme de nain grotesque aux jambes difformes. Dans d’autres cas, la problématique se situe dans des détails ou des imprécisions. Bydło constitue l’impression de Moussorgski d’un char à boeufs polonais, mais l’ambiance diabolique et le cocher ne sont pas présents dans l’image d’Hartmann. On ne parvient à retrouver la scène avec les villageoises en pleine discussion de Limoges – Le Marché dans aucune esquisse d’Hartmann. Baba-Yaga est quant à elle basée sur un projet pour une horloge en forme de maison perchée sur des pattes de poule qui, selon une histoire populaire russe, serait habitée par la sorcière Baba-Yaga. Moussorgski fait traverser les airs sur un balai à cette sorcière mangeuse d’hommes qui — toujours selon la légende — broyait les os des enfants dans un pot en pierre. Moussorgski va sans doute le plus loin dans sa manipulation du matériau d’Hartmann dans Samuel Goldenberg & Schmuÿle : il combine ici deux portraits (le juif riche et le juif pauvre) dans un dialogue polarisé — un personnage au-dessus de la partition d’orchestre et l’autre avançant péniblement dans la basse. Un coup dramaturgique magistral ! Les portraits proviendraient de la collection personnelle de Moussorgski qui les aurait prêtés pour l’exposition. Mais Moussorgski les a-t-il vraiment utilisés comme source d’inspiration ou les personnages sont-ils surtout le fruit de sa propre imagination?

Ceci vaut en tout cas pour la Promenade qui ouvre la suite et revient plusieurs fois dans une forme raccourcie et modifiée. Ici, dans le sillage du compositeur, nous nous promenons vers et à travers l’exposition. Le thème de la Promenade est également intégré dans Cum mortuis in lingua mortua et La grande porte de Kiev, où il se développe pour devenir un hymne aux accents patriotiques.

On a dit et écrit beaucoup de choses sur le réalisme inspiré par l’esprit national et les racines populaires de la musique. L’attachement au folklore russe était pour Moussorgski aussi d’une grande importance, même s’il a approché cet héritage de manière intuitive plutôt que théorique. D’autres caractéristiques remarquables de la suite sont l’inspiration provenant de répertoires historiques, les connotations visuelles qui donnent à la partition la force suggestive d’une bande originale de film et la succession dynamique de tableaux très diversifiés. Mais ce qui est surtout brillant, c’est la manière dont Moussorgski parvient à forger sa palette de couleurs variées et sa mosaïque d’histoires en une intrigue marquante avec la Promenade comme ciment. L’équilibre est magistral, le récit du compositeur est convaincant. Pour le Russe lambda, Hartmann n’était pas vraiment une star, Moussorgski pas une idole et Tableaux d’une exposition pas un divertissement à se mettre tout de suite sous la dent. Au départ, la composition n’a eu que peu d’échos. Après la première édition (posthume), elle est devenue l’une des oeuvres les plus appréciées de Moussorgski. En 1886, Mikhail Touchmalov a été le premier à s’aventurer dans un arrangement, suivi plus tard par Leopold Stokowski, Lucien Cailliet, Walter Goehr, Vladimir Ashkenazy et Leonard Slatkin. Celui qui le veut peut même écouter des versions pour brass band, ensemble de jazz latino ou de punk jazz, harpe de verre, percussions, choeur de guitares ou de saxophones ou se procurer l’album du même nom des rockeurs Emerson, Lake & Palmer.

L’arrangement le plus connu est sans conteste celui de Maurice Ravel qui en avait reçu la commande en 1920 de la part du compositeur/chef d’orchestre/éditeur Sergueï Koussevitzky. Avec son orchestration, il poursuit dans la voie innovante de Moussorgski, en explorant toutes les possibilités de l’orchestre moderne, comme par exemple le solo de saxophone dans Il vecchio castello, le solo de tuba dans Bydło et la trompette avec sourdine dans Schmuÿle.

Koussevitzky avait demandé à Ravel d’orchestrer à la Rimsky-Korsakov — une indication que le compositeur a en grande partie laissée de côté pour privilégier un style plus personnel, rebelle et solide. Il n’a pourtant pas totalement échappé à l’influence de son collègue : en l’absence de la partition originelle de Moussorgski, il a dû utiliser l’édition de Rimsky-Korsakov comme point de départ.

Et cela a laissé des traces : ainsi, le crescendo à l’approche du char à boeufs est l’oeuvre de l’éditeur ; Moussorgski demandait l’emploi d’un fortissimo. On peut assez bien analyser les endroits où la plume de Moussorgski passe dans les mains de Rimski-Korsakov ou de Ravel. Mais beaucoup d’autres questions autour de Tableaux d’une exposition restent sans réponse : de quoi avaient l’air les oeuvres perdues d’Hartmann ? Pourquoi ne retrouve-t-on pas toutes les descriptions de Stassov dans le catalogue de l’exposition ? Et pourquoi Moussorgski était-il si attiré par cette oeuvre, qui trahit la main d’un professionnel plein de fantaisie mais qui en est tout de même parfois pour ses frais quand on compare avec la partition énergique et sensible ?

Ces questions donnent toujours du fil à retordre aux musicologues et aux détectives mélomanes. Mais la constatation la plus intrigante dans tout cela est peut-être bien que la composition reste sans peine debout même sans la moindre explication ou référence. Dans ce sens, les paroles suivantes de Calvocoressi, biographe de Moussorgski (1908), tiennent lieu de conclusion : « le résultat musical n’en reste pas moins intéressant, ignorât-on absolument toute explication. Et les plus exigeants accorderont que, cette condition une fois remplie, la musique, fut-elle imitative, descriptive ou représentative, est bonne ».

RAVEL – MA MÈRE L’OYE

On peut dire la même chose de Ma Mère l’Oye de Ravel : une suite qui s’est laissée insuffler non par des images mais par des mots. Ravel a écrit les cinq compositions, qui puisent sans complexe dans les contes de Charles Perrault, de la Comtesse d’Aulnoy et de Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont, pour Mimie et Jean — les deux enfants de l’artiste Cyprian Godebski. Quelques mois après la première (le 20 avril 1910), Ravel a orchestré la suite. Au cours de l’année suivante (1911), il y a ajouté une scène supplémentaire, un prélude et un interlude à la demande de l’impresario Jacques Rouché, qui y voyait la possibilité d’une adaptation pour un ballet.

La suite pour orchestre s’ouvre avec la Pavane de la Belle au bois dormant : dans cette évocation du conte de Perrault, la princesse Florine est représentée comme une somnambule. Le Petit Poucet est immortalisé lors de son errance à travers la forêt, ayant inutilement semé des miettes de pain : dans la partition de Ravel, il prend la forme musicale d’un hautbois tandis que les oiseaux avides gazouillent dans la partie des bois. L’histoire autour de Laideronnette, Impératrice des Pagodes est moins connue mais tout aussi remplie de fantaisie : une princesse transformée en fille laide par une sorcière voyage en compagnie d’un serpent dans le pays des « Pagodes » — de petites créatures au corps couvert de pierres précieuses. Ravel utilise des échelles tonales pentatoniques et des instruments à percussion (xylophone, woodblocks, célesta) pour créer un décor incontestablement oriental. Dans Les entretiens de la Belle et de la Bête — un dialogue entre une gracieuse et valsante clarinette et un contrebasson grommelant – la musique se concentre sur le moment suprême : Belle accepte d’épouser la Bête et se retrouve soudain non plus devant un horrible monstre mais devant un beau prince (grâce à un coup de baguette magique dans la partie de la harpe et des percussions) ! Le jardin féerique symbolise le happy end : un joli couple princier est accompagné par une fée en chemin vers une vie longue et heureuse.

Avec ce monde de palais et de magie, Ravel dévoile un côté moins connu de sa personnalité sophistiquée : il était fou de jeux d’enfants, avait un faible pour l’imagination sans frein et la perception sans préjugé des enfants et il était fasciné par l’innocence transcendante de l’enfance. Sa prédilection pour l’arrangement de compositions existantes peut sans doute être expliquée dans cette perspective : ne se donnait-il pas là la possibilité de regarder la musique chaque fois d’un point de vue original, nouveau, naïf ? Les oeuvres de cet enregistrement témoignent déjà des incomparables fruits que cette approche a livrés : des pages riches et intenses qui explosent de l’ingéniosité musico-technique et de l’abondance créative d’un génie musical qui est resté éternellement jeune.

Sofie Taes – Jos van Immerseel

Traduction: Estelle Spoto

© Outhere Music