Fortepianos for the Schubertiade

The decision to use an original fortepiano by Conrad Graf (Artesis Antwerp, deposited at the Museum Vleeshuis) for Schubertiade was founded on two considerations. First of all, the instrument takes us very close to the composer: it was built in 1826 – two years before Schubert’s death – by a maker he knew personally. Secondly,

Read on

Erard Gothic double-action pedal harp – Paris No 4623

This type of harp was patented by Pierre-Orphée Érard (1794-1855) in London in 1836. The instrument is bigger and heavier than the double-action pedal harp patented and produced by his uncle, Sebastian Érard1 (1752-1831). The ‘Gothic’ model (named after the ‘Gothic’ style of column decoration) has 46 or 47 strings (rather than 43) – the

Read on

Oboe Grundmann & Floth

In autumn 2014, Benoît Laurent joined Anima as a soloist in a concert series featuring CPE Bach’s oboe concerto Wq 165. About the instrument he selected for this program, Benoît wrote the following note.

Read on

Fortepiano Anton Walter

In 1988, Christopher Clarke finished a reconstruction of a fortepiano by the Viennese instrument builder Anton Walter (late 18th-early 19th century), that today forms part of Jos van Immerseel’s collection of historical keyboards. The following article by Clarke elaborates on the genius of Walter and his creations.

Read on
anton walter pianoforte

Basset clarinet Theodor Lotz

In November 2014, Anima toured with a ‘Classics’-program featuring Mozart’s famous clarinet concerto – starring: Lisa Shklyaver – which was originally written for basset clarinet. Find out more about this instrument and the copy used by Lisa here!

Read on

Les fortepianos du ‘Schubertiade’

La décision d’utiliser un pianoforte original de Conrad Graf (Artesis Antwerpen, en dépôt au Musée Vleeshuis) pour Schubertiade est basée sur une double considération. Tout d’abord, l’instrument nous relie au compositeur : il fut construit en 1826 – deux ans avant la mort de Schubert – par un facteur qu’il connaissait personnellement. D’autre part, c’était

Lisez plus

Harpe à pédales Erard Gothic à double mouvement – Paris n° 4623

Ce type de harpe a été breveté par Pierre-Orphée Érard (1794-1855) à Londres en 1836. L’instrument est plus imposant et plus lourd que la harpe à pédales à double mouvement brevetée et produite par son oncle, Sébastien Érard1 (1752-1831). Le modèle « Gothic » (ainsi appelé en référence au style ‘gothique’ de sa colonne) possède 46 ou

Lisez plus

Hautbois Grundmann & Floth

En automne 2014, Benoît Laurent rejoint Anima comme soliste pour une série de concerts au cours desquels il interprète notamment l’oboe concerto Wq 165 de CPE Bach. Benoît a rédigé la contribution suivante au sujet de l’instrument qu’il a sélectionné pour ce programme.

Lisez plus

Pianoforte Anton Walter

En 1988, Christopher Clarke finissait de reconstruire un piano-forte réalisé par le fabricant d’instruments viennois Anton Walter (fin 18e – début 19e siècle), lequel fait aujourd’hui partie de la collection de claviers anciens de Jos van Immerseel. Dans l’article suivant, Clarke nous explique ce qui fait le génie de Walter et de ses créations.

Lisez plus
anton walter pianoforte

Clarinette de basset Theodor Lotz

En novembre 2014, Anima est parti en tournée avec un programme de grands classiques, au cours duquel la partie solo de l’illustre ‘concerto pour clarinette’, initialement écrit pour la clarinette de basset, a été confiée à Lisa Shklyaver. Pour lire l’article qu’a consacré Lisa à l’instrument et à l’exemplaire qu’elle a utilisé pour ces concerts, cliquez ici !

Lisez plus