Basset clarinet Theodor Lotz

The basset clarinet was first heard in public on 20 February 1788, on the stage of the Imperial and Royal National Theatre in Vienna, where Anton Stadler (1753-1812) performed a concert and variations (the exact programme, however, has remained uncertain to the present day).

The appearance of this instrument is due firstly to a fortunate coincidence of historical circumstances of late 18th century musical life, when two clarinet virtuosi of the day, the brothers Anton and Johann Stadler, the Instrument Maker to the Royal and Imperial Court Theodor Lotz (1747-1792) and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) all found themselves in the same city – Vienna – at the same time. Secondly, the instrument is a product of an age of experimentation and attempts to improve the technical possibilities of the clarinet. One of these improvements is the extension of the clarinet’s pitch range by a major third down, which was suggested by A. Stadler and achieved by Th. Lotz in the mid-1780´s in Vienna; first diatonically and later, in 1790, also chromatically.

However, it is unlikely that Stadler and Lotz were the inventors of the basset clarinet, since in museum collections in Paris one has discovered clarinets dating from around 1770 that also had their range extended down and whose construction corresponds to the type called basset clarinet. In any event, the basset clarinet´s „career” began auspiciously in Vienna thanks to Stadler, Lotz and Mozart … only to peter out again very quickly. The instrument that Stadler himself called a „bass clarinet“ or an „invention clarinet“, later named basset clarinet or Stadler clarinet, is more closely tied to the biography of this musician than any other. Mozart dedicated two of his brilliant works – the pearls of the clarinet repertoire – to him: the quintet KV 581 and the concerto KV 622. Whether Mozart actually heard his concerto being performed is uncertain; he completed it only three months before his death.

For over one hundred and fifty years the basset clarinet was largely forgotten, the two works of Mozart were rewritten for the normal clarinet by octavating the basset tones and were played that way until the mid-20th century. But with the growing interest in historical performance practice, the two works were „reborn“, thanks to Alan Hacker, who restored the clarinet voices for the basset clarinet.

Today it is possible for us to attempt, on a reconstructed instrument from Mozart´s time, to approach the then-original sound idea which is an inseparable component of his musical work.

It would not be entirely correct to say that playing on historical instruments (or copies of them) makes the so-called „original sound“ possible; too much is lacking for that! From the illustrations, letters, reports and newspaper articles that are available, one can get only a rough idea of what an instrument or an orchestra of 1790 or of 1820 might have sounded like. Moreover, we have received and integrated the entire development of world musical history of the last 200 years, all of which has shaped and influenced our ways of thinking and hearing, which one cannot say a priori about a musician of the early 19th century. However, to attempt to make the music sound as it may have sounded back then, and indeed not only by having a copy of a historical basset clarinet in hand, but rather by attempting to look back 220 years and musically transform the spirit of the time, is the special mission that we in Anima Eterna Brugge have embraced, and it is only possible on historical instruments.

Basset clarinet Theodor Lotz – Soren Green, The Hague, 2013 (Lisa Shklyaver)

Clarinette de basset Theodor Lotz

Le 20 février 1788, les notes d’une clarinette de basset s’élevèrent pour la première fois dans la salle du Théâtre national de la cour impériale à Vienne, où Anton Stadler (1753-1812) donna un concert et des variations dont on ne sait toujours rien aujourd’hui.

La création de cet instrument est, d’une part, le fruit d’un concours de circonstances : à la fin du XVIIIe siècle, les frères Anton et Johann Stadler, deux clarinettistes virtuoses, vécurent à Vienne au même moment que Theodor Lotz (1747-1792), fabricant d’instruments de la cour impériale, et Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791). D’autre part, cet instrument est aussi le produit d’une époque placée sous le signe d’essais et d’expérimentations qui avaient pour but d’améliorer les possibilités techniques de la clarinette. L’une de ces améliorations fut l’élargissement du registre de la clarinette d’une bonne tierce vers les graves. Cette invention, encouragée par Anton Stadler et réalisée à Vienne par Theodor Lotz au milieu des années 1780, fut d’abord diatonique, puis chromatique en 1790.

On peut cependant émettre des doutes quant au fait que Stadler et Lotz soient réellement les inventeurs de la clarinette de basset car on a découvert dans les réserves de musées parisiens des clarinettes datant d’environ 1770, dont le registre est également étendu vers les graves et dont la construction correspond à celle de l’instrument appelé clarinette de basset. Quoi qu’il en soit, la clarinette de basset entama sa « carrière » à Vienne grâce à Stadler, Lotz et Mozart. Une carrière qui fut malheureusement de courte durée. Cet instrument que Stadler appelait Baß-Klarinet (clarinette basse) ou Inventionsklarinette (clarinette réinventée) et qui fut plus tard dénommée clarinette de basset ou clarinette de Stadler est désormais indissociable du nom du musicien. Mozart lui dédia deux œuvres de génie, véritables perles du répertoire pour clarinette : le quintette KV 581 et le concert KV 622. On ignore si Mozart put assister à une représentation de son concert, puisqu’il l’acheva trois mois seulement avant sa mort.

La clarinette de basset tomba dans l’oubli pendant plus de cent cinquante ans, les deux œuvres de Mozart furent réécrites pour des clarinettes traditionnelles en apportant des changements d’octaves aux tons de basset et furent jouées sous cette forme jusqu’au milieu du XXe siècle. L’intérêt grandissant pour la pratique historique est à l’origine de la « renaissance » de ces deux œuvres, une renaissance signée Alan Hacker, qui a rétabli les registres des clarinettes pour la clarinette de basset.

Aujourd’hui, nous pouvons essayer de nous rapprocher de l’idée sonore initiale, indissociable de l’œuvre musicale de Mozart, à l’aide d’un instrument d’époque reconstitué.

Il ne serait néanmoins pas tout à fait correct d’affirmer que jouer sur des instruments d’époque ou des copies permet de retrouver le « son originel » – il nous manque beaucoup trop d’éléments ! Les illustrations, lettres, comptes rendus et articles de journaux dont nous disposons ne donnent en effet qu’une idée relative de la façon dont un instrument ou un orchestre « sonnait » en 1790 ou en 1820. À cela s’ajoute le fait que nous avons reçu et intégré toutes les évolutions musicales mondiales des 200 dernières années, qui ont marqué et influencé notre manière de penser et d’écouter. On ne peut a priori en dire de même d’un musicien du début du XIXe siècle. Donner à la musique le son qu’elle avait probablement à l’époque où elle a été composée, pas seulement parce que l’on tient une copie de clarinette de basset dans ses mains mais aussi parce que l’on aspire à synthétiser 220 années d’histoire et de transposer en musique l’esprit d’une période révolue, voilà l’entreprise très particulière dans laquelle Anima Eterna Brugge s’est lancée et que seuls des instruments d’époque rendent possible.

Clarinette de basset Theodor Lotz – Soren Green, La Haye, 2013 (Lisa Shklyaver)