Milestones

We’ve loved every single day of the past 30 years of Anima! Discover some of the milestones crossed and highlights experienced: a trip down memory lane, topped off with a sneak peek at our future!

Our history
  • 1985

    Jos van Immerseel brought together 5 string players, among them Jaap Schröder and Roel Dieltiens, and started performing ensemble works of the Baroque period

  • 1987

    a new Baroque orchestra – with a play on the name of the founder – was born: Anima Eterna. Expanded to 17 musicians, the ensemble began discovering classical Viennese and French Baroque works and gained increasing international recognition

  • 1990

    recording of all (21) Mozart piano concertos (10 CDs issued by Channel Classics) and the complete performance of all the concertos in Kyoto and Tokyo

  • 1996-1997

    innovative performance and recording of Schubert’s 6 symphonies, based on the composer’s manuscripts: the Viennese wind instruments from Schubert’s era were used here for the first time (35 -45 musicians). The 4 CDs from Sony Classical were enthusiastically received by the international press (Diapason d’Or of the year for 1998)

  • 1999-2000

    surprising pioneering work and restoration of the well-known compositions of Johann Strauss, Jr: based on a critical edition and in collaboration with professional dancers, Anima Eterna once again makes it possible to dance to Strauss’s waltzes

  • 2002

    Zig-Zag Territoires Paris launches the “Collection Anima Eterna” with 2 pioneering internationally acclaimed recordings: Johann Strauss, Jr. and Tchaikovsky. The orchestra opens the brand new Concertgebouw Brugge on 20.02.2002

  • 2003

    Anima Eterna is named ‘Orchestra in residence’ of the Concertgebouw Brugge

  • 2004

    Eagerly received ‘revisiting’ of the late Romantic repertoire on period instruments: Liszt, Brahms, Rimsky-Korsakov and Borodin. The Liszt CD wins the Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik (German record critics’ prize)

  • 2005

    never heard since Ravel: his orchestral music on early 20th century French wind instruments – a festive (re)discovery of the authentic sounds to celebrate 20 years of Anima Eterna

  • 2006

    International Mozart year: absolutely everyone wants to hear Anima Eterna play Mozart. The ensemble’s first love is relived with a new repertoire (concertos for horn, for violin, for flute and harp, etc.) and new award-winning CDs

  • 2008

    3 years of preparation and 5 recording sessions result in a new jewel in the crown: the Beethoven 6 CD box set with all the symphonies and various overtures demonstrate the mature orchestra’s tried and true vision and perfection of the Viennese repertoire (Editor’s Choice – Gramophone, among others)

  • 2010

    Anima Eterna is renamed Anima Eterna Brugge, as the offices move to the Ezelpoort in Bruges and Jos van Immerseel & Anima Eterna Brugge become ‘Artiste et Ensemble Associé de l’Opéra de Dijon’; release of a DVD of ‘Beethoven’s 5th Symphony’, which includes a documentary about Anima

  • 2011

    release of Poulenc CD

  • 2012

    release of Debussy CD and re-issue of the entire series of Schubert symphonies

  • 2013

    Recording of ‘Pictures at an Exhibition’ by Mussorgsky

  • 2014

    concert debut in Frankfurt, Alte Oper; concert tour and CD release of Carmina Burana with the Collegium Vocale Gent

  • 2015

    release of Schubertiade CD box set, Beethoven in Mexico & Jos van Immerseel 70!

  • 2016

    Beethoven in Sydney & New York

  • 2017

    Anima crosses over to jazz for the first time, exploring the oeuvre of George Gershwin.

  • 2018

    Jos van Immerseel is awarded a lifetime achievement award by Flemish classical radio station KLARA

Nos Jalons

30 ans d’Anima… tant de jours à célébrer! Notre histoire a, bien entendu, eu ses jalons et ses points culminants. Retrouvez ici les empreintes de ces aventures, et découvrez nos grands projets à venir !

Notre histoire
  • 1985

    Jos van Immerseel réunit 5 instrumentistes à cordes dont Jaap Schröder et Roel Dieltiens et commence par interpréter des œuvres pour ensemble issues de la période baroque.

  • 1987

    Un nouvel orchestre baroque – avec un clin d’œil au nom du fondateur – est créé : Anima Eterna. Étendu à 17 musiciens, l’ensemble explore le répertoire viennois classique et le baroque français et se forge une réputation internationale qui ne cesse de prendre de l’ampleur.

  • 1990

    Enregistrements de tous (21) les concerts de Mozart pour piano-forte (10 CD chez Channel Classics) et audition intégrale de tous les concerts à Kyoto et Tokyo.

  • 1996-1997

    nouvelle exécution et enregistrements des symphonies de Schubert, sur la base des manuscrits du compositeur : pour la première fois, des instruments à vent viennois de l’époque de Schubert sont utilisés (35 – 45 musiciens). Les 4 albums parus chez Sony Classical sont accueillis avec enthousiasme par la presse internationale (Diapason d’Or de l’Année – 1998).

  • 1999-2000

    étonnant travail de pionnier et réhabilitation des célèbres compositions de Johann Strauss Jr : s’inspirant d’une édition critique de l’œuvre et s’entourant de danseurs professionnels, Anima Eterna refait valser les gens sur les œuvres de Strauss.

  • 2002

    Zig-Zag Territoires Paris lance la « Collection Anima Eterna » avec deux enregistrements révolutionnaires acclamés à l’internationale : Strauss Jr. et Tchaikovsky. L’orchestre inaugure le tout nouveau Concertgebouw de Bruges le 20 février 2002

  • 2003

    Anima Eterna devient l’orchestre en résidence du Concertgebouw de Bruges.

  • 2004

    Une réinterprétation enthousiaste et audacieuse du répertoire romantique tardif sur des instruments d’époque : Liszt, Brahms, Rimsky-Korsakov et Borodin. L’album Liszt remporte le « Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik ».

  • 2005

    Du jamais « vu » depuis Ravel : sa musique pour orchestre est interprétée sur des instruments à vent français du début du 20e siècle – une joyeuse découverte ou redécouverte de ce qu’est le véritable royaume musical à l’occasion des 20 ans d’Anima Eterna.

  • 2006

    Année internationale de Mozart : tout le monde souhaite entendre Anima Eterna interpréter Mozart. Les premières amours revivent avec faste et magnificence au travers d’un nouveau répertoire (concerts pour cor, harpe et flute, violon, etc.) et de nouveaux albums applaudis par la critique.

  • 2008

    Après 3 années de préparation et 5 séances d’enregistrement, c’est un nouveau joyau qui voit le jour : le coffret 6 CD de Beethoven, qui réunit toutes les symphonies et diverses ouvertures, témoigne de la vision éprouvée de l’orchestre et de la perfection avec laquelle, fort de sa maturité, il interprète le répertoire viennois (il devient notamment l’Editor’s Choice du magazine Gramophone)

  • 2010

    Anima Eterna devient Anima Eterna Brugge et s’installe à l’Ezelpoort à Bruges et Jos van Immerseel & Anima Eterna Brugge deviennent Artiste et Ensemble associé de l’Opéra de Dijon ; sortie du DVD « 5e Symphonie de Beethoven » incluant un documentaire sur Anima

  • 2011

    Sortie de l’album Poulenc

  • 2012

    Sortie de l’album Debussy et réédition de l’intégrale des symphonies de Schubert

  • 2013

    Enregistrement des « Tableaux d'une exposition » de Mussorgski

  • 2014

    Début des concerts à Frankfort, Alte Oper ; tournée et sortie de l’album Carmina Burana avec le Collegium Vocale Gent

  • 2015

    Sortie du coffret CD des schubertiades, Beethoven à Mexico et les 70 ans de Jos van Immerseel !

  • 2016

    Beethoven à Sydney et New York

  • 2017

    Une grande première : Anima s’aventure dans l’univers du jazz et de la variété avec George Gershwin !

  • 2018

    Jos van Immerseel est décerné un Prix KLARA pour l'ensemble de sa carrière par la radio classique flamande