‘Great’ chamber music by Schubert and Berwald


Hide details
Date Time Location Tickets
05-04-2019 21:00 AMUZ, Antwerpen Tickets
In collaboration with musicians from Anima Next Generation
  • Franz Berwald (1796 - 1868) - Septet in B flat Major (1828)
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828) - Oktett F Dur, D 803 op. 166 (1824)
  • Jakob Lehmann - Conductor - First violin

With this programme we breathe new life into two 19th century masterpieces that are seldom heard on period instruments. In his Septet for wind and strings the underappreciated Swedish composer Franz Berwald reveals a surprisingly modern and original piece of work. Schubert’s Octet in F is a monument from the chamber music repertoire. But did you know that the work was originally conceived in preparation for Die Grosse Sinfonie? For decades the Octet was regarded as unplayable because of the incorrect interpretation of a time signature in the score, but thanks to a new publication you can now hear it at its most beautiful.